He died at dawn, at the age of 76 years old, the poet Costas G. Papageorgiou, who was born in Athens in 1945 and belonged to the 'generation of ΄ 35), which he had systematically studied, already publishing from 1989 the relevant essay of the same title and baptizing the “generation of denial”.

He was particularly active in both poetry and essay writing, prose and critical study of literature. He was immersed in many kinds of speech, but poetry has always remained “his main creative path”.

The Writers' Association expresses its heartfelt condolences to the relatives of the deceased.

Papageorgiou studied law and philology. He first appeared in the letters with the poetic collection Poems 1966. Worked as a lawyer from 1975 to 1978) but then, he dealt exclusively with literature and what was directly or indirectly related to it.

Worked at Hellenic Radio, as a literary consultant and as a curator of literary shows and events in the Third Program. At the same time, he worked as a professor at the Drama School of the Athens Conservatory, teaching History of Theater and Literature.

He collaborated with some of the most important literary magazines of Athens and Thessaloniki (“Anti”, “Lexi”, “Dentro” “,” I read “,” Enteftirio “,” Tram “etc.) and co-directed, together with the poet George Markopoulos, the magazine Poetika (published by Govosti). During the years of the junta, he was co-editor of the annual group anti-dictatorship publications Deposit '70 and Deposit '74.

Death has always been decisive in his poetry. Thus 1995 he wrote, together with the poet Giannis Varveris, the Greek poetic anthology of death of the twentieth century.

Systematically exercised literary criticism from magazines and newspapers.

From 1978 to 1998 published and directed the magazine Letters and Arts.

His poems were set to music and released on records by Thanos Mikroutsikos (“Painting”), by Nikos Tatsis (“Fundraising”), as well as by Haris Katsimihas. 2001 was awarded the State Poetry Prize and the Poetry Prize of the magazine I read for the book Stolen History, the 2009 with the Petros Charis Foundation Award of the Academy of Athens for all his work and 2012 with the Novel-Short Story Award of Diavazo magazine.

His works:

Poems, Athens 1970), Collection, Athens, Fexis 1966),

You sit on the ground, Kedros 1972).

Painting, Cedar 1972), 3rd edition 1986),

The family tree, Kedros 1982),

The killed blood, Cedar 1982,

Down in sleep, Cedar 1989),

Stitched mouth, Cedar 1990),

Poems (1970 – 1992), aggregate edition, Athens, Kanaki 1996),

Homeland the blood, Kastaniotis 1998),

Stolen history, Kedros 2000),

Poems (1972 – 2001)), Alexandria 2004,


The giatapato, Kedros 1978),

Of All Saints, Kedros 1992),

'Anna, now sleep, Knowledge 1995,

Greek letters, 2001,

It took light, Cedar 1996,

Instead of silence, Series: “Letters for you », Greek Letters, 2003