Greece: The motion of censure was rejected

The motion of censure of SYRIZA against the government was rejected with 156 votes.

A total of 299 deputies voted. The 156 deputies of ND voted against the motion of no confidence, in favor of 142 deputies of the opposition, while there was also a “present”, coming from the independent deputy Konstantinos Bogdanos. Mrs. Marietta Giannakou was absent from the voting, as she is in the hospital with a serious health problem.

It was preceded by a fierce confrontation between Kyriakos Mitsotakis and Alexis Tsipras, which ended the three-day discussion of the motion of censure submitted by SYRIZA against the government.

The ground for the confrontation between the Prime Minister and the leader of the official opposition had been paved by the fierce incident of Pavlos Polakis and Adonis Georgiadis when the SYRIZA MP verbally attacked the Minister of Development.

See Also:

World’s first true spaceplane aims to land at airports

In his speech, the Prime Minister described as “embarrassing” and a “deadlocked” the motion of censure of SYRIZA, while he assessed that the use of the most powerful parliamentary weapon by the main opposition reveals the political and internal impasse of Mr. Tsipras.

Related posts

Ataturk’s house in Thessaloniki needs to become a Greek Genocide museum – Opinion


Rafale fighter jet (Burst of Fire) – How good is it? (video)


US welcomes the French-Greek military deal of the Belh@rr frigates


Spotting CNN on a TV Aboard Air Force One, Trump Rages Against Reality


The remains of 7 Greek heroes return home from Cyprus after 47 years


PM Mitsotakis to visit Libya next week