Greece extends entry rules until January 24

The Greek authorities have decided to extend their entry rules imposed against all travellers for another two weeks.

The decision has been announced by the Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) of Greece, which noted that the new rules will be effective from today, January 10, and will remain valid until January 24, reports.

In line with the extended rules, all travellers over the age of five must present a negative PCR or rapid antigen test taken before their arrival in Greece. The PCR test must not be older than 72 hours, whereas the rapid antigen test must not be older than 24.

It has been explained that the testing requirement applies to everyone regardless of their nationality or their vaccination status.

In addition, all travellers are required to complete a Passenger Locator Form before travelling to Greece.

“The proof of completion of the PLF electronic form, which is automatically sent by e-mail to the passenger by the system, is considered a necessary travel document,” the authorities highlighted.

Moreover, upon their entry into Greece, travellers may be subject to a random health screening, meaning that the chosen ones will have to undergo a second COVID-19 test upon request.

Those who test positive will be required to undergo a five-day mandatory quarantine requirement and wear an FFP2 or another alternative.

“The temporary restriction starts from the next day of their diagnosis as COVID-19 coronavirus positive. After five days and if there are no symptoms or the symptoms have improved, with complete remission of the fever for 24 hours without the use of antipyretics, the temporary restriction ends,” the authorities explained.

Apart from prolonging the testing entry rules, it has been announced that the entry ban imposed against those travelling from a country outside the European Union/Schengen Area will also be extended.

This means that travellers from third countries, with the exception of some, can not travel to Greece, at least for now.

Exempt from the entry ban are travellers from these third countries: Australia, Northern Macedonia, UAE, USA, UK, Israel, Canada, Belarus, New Zealand, South Korea, Qatar, Bahrain, China, Kuwait, Ukraine, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, Montenegro, Albania, Japan, Lebanon, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Azerbaijan, Armenia, Jordan, Moldova, Brunei, San Marino, Andorra, Vatican City State, Monaco, Argentina, India, Uruguay, Oman, Chile, Mexico, Kosovo, and Taiwan.

Travellers from the above-mentioned countries can travel to Greece provided that they meet the entry rules, such as presenting a vaccination and recovery certificate as well as a negative COVID-19 test taken before entry.

Related posts

Bank of America – Positive for the bonds of Greek banks


CITI – Mytilineos – Record profits for the 4th quarter of 2021


EKTER: In a consortium for a project of Athens Water and Sewage-EYDAP


Grivalia Hospitality under sole control of Fairfax


FlyOver: Avax – Mytilineos consortium gets 373 million euro project


Independent Power Transmission Operator (IPTO): Enhances Transmission System Durability